“She believed she could so she did!”

Wow! I can’t believe that I am sitting here writing in my GR apartment at Duke University! Everyday I wake as if this were a dream but this is reality and I am super excited about my journey here at Duke Divinity School!

Well let me start by explaining why I am at Duke so early when school starts on August 28th. I am a GR, Graduate Resident for Duke and all week I have been training for the incoming freshmen and what a week it has been. Being a first year Divinity Student and GR is going to be a challenge for me but I know this is the place where I need to be.

Let me explain! I have always felt the call in to ministry, but what that looked like I didn’t quite know and now I do. If you would have asked me a year ago today which seminary was I going to, I would have responded “I don’t know”. Now that I am here there is absolutely no turning back, I believe that while I am here in seminary, I am going to grow more and more in the gifts.

While I am a Divinity School Student, I am also a GR and with that title comes a lot of responsibility. I am simply here to help develop a community amongst the freshmen within my building and the Duke Campus! I am excited and nervous about this position because although I am GR, I am also new to Duke as well as the Durham community. I am hoping that throughout this journey I am able to help build and form community with the residents within in my building and beyond that.

My prayer is that you will journey with me throughout my duration at Duke! As time goes on, I am going to try write more but I will get busy with my studies and etc.

“We have stories to tell, stories that provide wisdom about the journey of life. What more have we to give one another than our ‘truth’ about our human adventure as honestly and as openly as we know how?”
– Rabbi Saul Rubin

7 thoughts on ““She believed she could so she did!”

  1. So excited to explore with you via your blog on your new Journey!! You are and will always be a success story to me and many others. You have affected me and Omar in more ways you can imagine back in our Tuskegee days and even until this day. I am so proud of you and honored to have you as a friend. Congratulations Jakaela!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohh! Jacala I’m so excited for your walk and all the roads that continue to take you closer to the Father. I’m so,so proud of you and filled with so much joy ! As if you came from my womb (Lord knows I’m too young for that)…but just knowing that your obedience to the Father has you destinatined for nothing but greatness! I look forward to you sharing with us.
    I love you and here for you always!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Greetings I am so delighted I found your web
    site, I really found you by error, while I was looking
    on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say
    cheers for a remarkable post and a all round
    interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please
    do keep up the great job. http://www.quebecaudio.com/used/index.php/author/alejandrodr/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

